To title and
register a motor vehicle, motor home or recreational vehicle that is titled outside of Florida, you will need to bring the following
to the Tax Collectors Office:
The out-of-state title
certificate in your name. If recording a lien, the lien holder's name, Federal
Employer's identification number and address are also required.
If your vehicle is titled in your name, but it is financed and the
title is being held by the lien holder, we will need complete lien holder information
including account number, lien holder name and mailing address.
If you are bringing your application to our
office, each registered owner, or their appointed power of attorney, must be present to sign a new
application for title. Buyers need to bring identification such as a Drivers
License, Identification Card, passport or U.S. military I.D. card. In cases involving a
power of attorney, the signed appointment must be presented. All applications may be
processed by mail also. To print the 6 page title
click here. Also, the application can
be mailed or faxed to you.
The buyer(s) name on the title application
and his or her drivers license (or I.D. card) must match exactly.
The VIN (vehicle identification number) and
odometer reading must be verified. The Tax Collectors staff can do the verification
at the time of title application. If the vehicle will not be available to take to the Tax
Collectors Office, you can have the vehicle inspected by a
law enforcement officer, military police, a Florida notary, DMV inspector, or a Florida
licensed car dealer. The required form is available in the Tax Collectors Office.
Proof of Florida insurance with company
name and policy number.
If transferring a license plate that was
registered in Florida, the previous registration or vehicle information such as license
plate or decal number will be needed
Sales tax is collected on the purchase
price of the vehicle less any trade-ins if purchased from a vehicle dealer. If the
out-of-state title was issued in your name, sales tax equivalent to Floridas tax and
local sales tax may be required if registering within 6 months of purchasing your vehicle. If
you purchased the vehicle within the last 6 months, bring the bill of sale which lists the
purchase price, sales tax paid, and any trade-in allowance. For approximate fees to
transfer a title, contact the Tax Collectors Office.